Exhibit Highlights

Exhibit Highlights

Exhibit Highlights


by NASCAR Hall of Fame


Posted on May 5, 2010 at 12:04 PM

High Octane Theater

  • Seats more than 275
  • Features 64-foot-wide curved projection screen with surround sound

Glory Road

  • 0 to 33 degrees banked ramp simulating various racetracks
  • Features 18 historic cars
  • Highlights 40 current and historic racetracks
  • Two opportunities for fans to walk up and experience - 14 and 33 degrees

Great Hall

  • State-of-the-art, interactive, 14x18 fan billboard screen
  • Capacity of 680 for receptions; 360 for banquets

Historic Cars
Number 43 - Richard Petty's Plymouth Belvedere

  • Located in Glory Road
  • Richard Petty drove the Plymouth to more wins than any other car in NASCAR history -- 36 overall, including 27 in 1967 and a record 10 straight races that year

Number 94 (modified) - Louise Smith's 1939 Ford

  • Located in Heritage Speedway
  • Louise Smith, a pioneer, female driver raced this car at various times in the NASCAR Modified Division, including races on Daytona Beach
  • Smith was one of three women to compete in the inaugural seasons of the NASCAR Strictly Stock Division
  • She won more than 38 races in her 10-year career and was the first woman election to the International Motorsports Hall of Fame in Talladega

Number 300-A - Tim Flock's 1956 Chrysler 300

  • Located in Heritage Speedway
  • Built to replicate Tim Flock's 1956 Daytona-winning car
  • This car came stock from the factory with a Hemi engine and two, 4-barrel carburetors
  • The series number "300" designated the amount of horsepower produced by the engine

Number 32 - Ricky Craven's 2003 Pontiac

  • Located in Heritage Speedway
  • Craven drove this car in the closest finish in NASCAR history in the 2003 Carolina Dodge Dealers 400 at Darlington Raceway
  • Craven ousted Kurt Busch by a margin of .002 of a second
  • This was the second NASCAR Winston Cup win of Craven's career
  • This Pontiac Grand Prix was owned by Cal Wells at the time
  • Craven has won at least one race in all three of NASCAR's national touring series