Hall of Fame induction process 101


by NASCAR Hall of Fame


Posted on May 5, 2010 at 12:50 PM

The NASCAR Hall of Fame is a state-of-the-art facility which honors NASCAR icons and creates an enduring tribute to the drivers, crew members, team owners and others that have impacted the sport in the past, present and yet to come. The facility’s mission will be to "preserve, protect and present" the complete history of the sport of NASCAR and its goal is to be acclaimed as one of the preeminent halls of fame/museums/entertainment attractions in the world.

Each year, five inductees will be added to those being recognized as the most prominent, contributing and accomplished of NASCAR, its history and legacy. Guests can recognize, reflect and learn about these prominent figures in the Hall of Honor area of the Hall.

The Nominating Committee is comprised of 20 officials from NASCAR, the NASCAR Hall of Fame, major race track ownership groups and operators of historic short track. The Nominating Committee’s role is to select the elite nominees for induction which cannot exceed 25 names.

The Voting Panel is comprised of NASCAR industry leaders, manufacturer representatives, former competitors, the media and fans. The Voting Panel’s role is to select the five inductees from the list of nominees.

To be eligible, former drivers must have competed 10 years in NASCAR and be retired from racing for a minimum of three years. Non-drivers must have worked at least 10 years in the industry. (Potential candidates with shorter careers may be considered if there are special circumstances.)

After the Nominating Committee selects the list of candidates, the voting entails a total of 50 ballots. 20 ballots are from the Nominating Committee; 30 ballots are from a group consisting of former drivers, former owners, former crew chiefs, manufacturer representatives and media; and one ballot represents the results of a nationwide fan vote.

Dale Earnhardt, won record seven NASCAR Winston Cup championships (1951-2001)
Bill France, Jr., NASCAR president, chairman and CEO (1933 – 2007)
Bill France, Sr., NASCAR founder and first president (1909 – 1992)
Junior Johnson, 50 wins as a driver, 132 wins and six championships as an owner
Richard Petty, 200 wins and seven NASCAR Winston Cup titles – both records

Not including five inductees
Bobby Allison, 1983 NASCAR Winston Cup Series champion and winner of 84 races
Buck Baker, first driver to win consecutive NASCAR Winston Cup championships
Red Byron, first NASCAR Winston Cup champion in 1949
Richard Childress, 11-time car owner champion in NASCAR’s three national series
Richie Evans, nine-time NASCAR Modified champion
Tim Flock, two-time champion of NASCAR’s premier division
Rick Hendrick, 11-time car owner champion in NASCAR’s three national series
Ned Jarrett, two-time NASCAR Winston Cup champion
Bud Moore, 63 wins and two NASCAR Sprint Cup titles as a car owner
Raymond Parks, NASCAR’s first champion car owner
Benny Parsons, 1973 NASCAR Winston Cup champion
David Pearson, 105 victories and three NASCAR Sprint Cup championships
Lee Petty, winner of first Daytona 500 and first three-time series champion
Fireball Roberts, won 33 NASCAR Winston Cup races, including the 1962 Daytona 500
Herb Thomas, first two-time NASCAR Winston Cup champion, 1951 and 1953
Curtis Turner, early personality, called the "Babe Ruth of stock car racing"
Darrell Waltrip, winner of 84 races and three NASCAR Winston Cup championships
Joe Weatherly, two-time NASCAR Winston Cup champion
Glen Wood, as driver, laid foundation for Wood Brothers’ future team success
Cale Yarborough, winner of three consecutive NASCAR Winston Cup titles (1976-78)