COLUMBIA, S.C. (AP) -- Gaffney Sen. Harvey Peeler has been re-elected leader of South Carolina's Senate Republicans for the next four years.

Senate Republicans voted for Peeler unanimously Tuesday, shortly before the beginning of the 2013 legislative session. Peeler has been majority leader since 2005.

He appointed Sens. Danny Verdin of Laurens and Shane Massey of Edgefield as majority whips.

South Carolina's House Democrats are electing a new leader Tuesday.

House Minority Leader Harry Ott of St. Matthews says after eight years as the chamber's Democratic leader, he's not seeking re-election to the post. Ott says he isn't able to commit to another two years.

House Republicans and Senate Democrats elected their leaders in organizational sessions after the November elections.

Read or Share this story: