RALEIGH, N.C. (AP) -- A bill approved Tuesday by the Senate Rules Committee would eliminate, retool or reorganize state boards and commissions. Significant changes in the bill would:

-- reduce Coastal Resources Commission membership from 15 to 11 and end current members' terms when bill becomes law. All 15 are now appointed by the governor. Four of the 11 would be appointed by legislative leaders.

-- reduce membership of Coastal Resources Advisory Council from 45 members to 20 and end current members' terms June 30. At least half of the new members must live at the coast.

-- reduce Environmental Management Commission membership from 19 to 13 and reduce the number appointed by the governor from 13 to seven. Current members' terms expire when the bill becomes law.

-- end terms of current Industrial Commission members April 15, provide for staggered terms and reduce terms of new members from six to four years.

-- end terms of current Utilities Commission members when the bill becomes law and reduces terms from eight to six years.

-- give General Assembly leaders two extra appointments on the Wildlife Resources Commission. Current members' terms would end June 30. All terms would now be two years.

-- eliminate 12 Special Superior Court judge positions effective July 1. Governors have had power to appoint such judgeships.

-- end the nine-member North Carolina Turnpike Authority and give the board's power to the Board of Transportation.

-- place limits on serving on the State Board of Elections to three four-year terms and declares vacant board positions where the person currently is in a fourth or greater consecutive term.

-- direct the governor to appoint the chairman of the State Board of Education. Board members currently choose the chairman.

-- end the terms of current members on the State Lottery Commission when the bill become law and reduce terms from five to two years.

-- allow the governor, state public safety secretary or a certified law enforcement officer to supervise sworn members of the State Highway Patrol. Current law gives such authority to the governor, public safety secretary or a uniformed patrol member.


Source: Senate bill, General Assembly research division.

Read or Share this story: