Decision 2013: Charlotte voters head to the polls

Decision 2013: Charlotte voters head to the polls


by Charlotte Observer

Posted on September 10, 2013 at 7:08 AM

Updated Tuesday, Sep 10 at 12:08 PM

CHARLOTTE, N.C. -- Charlotte voters will essentially choose a majority of the City Council in addition to Democratic and Republican mayoral nominees Tuesday.

Here’s what to know for Election Day:

Polls: Open at 6:30 a.m.; close at 7:30 p.m.

Who votes: Democrats and unaffiliated voters in the Democratic primaries; Republicans and unaffiliateds in GOP primaries.

Voter IDs: None needed until 2016.

Problems? Questions?: Call the Mecklenburg County elections board, 704-336-2133.

The mayor’s race: Patrick Cannon, Gary Dunn, James Mitchell and Lucille Puckett face off in the Democratic primary. Ed Peacock and David Michael Rice meet in the Republican primary. The winners face each other in November.

The at-large council race: Seven Democrats are vying for four nominations. Incumbents Claire Fallon, David Howard and Beth Pickering face current District 4 incumbent Michael Barnes and newcomers Scott Jenkins, Vi Alexander Lyles and Nancy Wiggins.

The four Democratic nominees meet the four Republicans and one Libertarian candidate in November.

District council races: Because each major party has a virtual lock on all seven council districts, seven council members will essentially be decided Tuesday. (District 3 has no primary.)

District 1: Mayor Patsy Kinsey, appointed to replace former Mayor Anthony Foxx, faces newcomer Art Cardenas in the central Charlotte district. No Republican is running.

District 2: Five Democrats are on the ballot to replace Mitchell in the heavily Democratic northwest district: Al Austin, Rocky Bailey, Brenda Stevenson, Justin Stewart and John White. The winner faces Republican Darryl Broome.

District 4: Four Democrats meet in the northwest district. With no Republican on the ballot, the next council member will be Levester Flowers, Greg Phipps, Leonard Richardson III or Wil Russell.

District 5: Incumbent John Autry faces Mitchell (Aerobo Cop) Smith-Bey in the Democratic primary in the eastside district. No Republican is running.

District 6: Four Republican newcomers are vying in the southeast district represented by Andy Dulin, who’s not running again. They are Ken Lindholm, Kate Payerle, James Peterson and Kenny Smith. No Democrat is running.

District 7: Three Republicans are running in the southeast district: Ed Driggs, Jay Privette and Duncan Wilson. The winner faces Democrat Bakari Burton in the heavily Republican district.