CHARLOTTE, N.C. — The videos are short, but the damage can last forever. There's a renewed push to raise awareness on the Move Over law by the North Carolina State Highway Patrol.
In December, Lumberton Officer Jason Quick was hit and killed while investigating a car crash on I-95.
"I can't even begin to tell what kind of husband I had," said Leah Quick, Officer Jason Quick's widow. "If you see blue lights if you can't slow down, stop."
With the help of lawmakers, Leah is pushing for stricter penalties for drivers who violate North Carolina's move over law.
Right now, a driver who causes more than $500 in damage to an emergency vehicle or injures an emergency responder can only be charged with a misdemeanor.
The new bill would increase that penalty to a Class 1 Felony.
It's stories like Leah's that keep David Calabrese up at night.
"This is the guy that hit us on the side of 485. Slow down and move over you're going to get someone killed out here," said David Calabrese, owner of Diamondback Towing Company.
There's some variation of the Move Over law in all 50 states, but according to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, more than 71 percent of Americans do not know the law exists.
"Folks just don't move over," said Michael Stanford, the Medic Operations Manager. "They don't pay attention to the emergency vehicles on the side of the road."