Breaking News
More () »

Cynthia Wallace wins Democratic primary for NC District 9, AP projects

Incumbent Dan Bishop (R) ran unopposed in the primary, while four candidates were hoping to be the Democratic nominee.
Credit: AP
A voter carries her ballot at a polling place, Saturday, Feb. 29, 2020, in Charleston, S.C., after voting in the state's primary. (AP Photo/Patrick Semansky)

MECKLENBURG COUNTY, N.C. — Less than a year after the District 9 special election of 2019, candidates are competing in the primary for the position. 

Incumbent Dan Bishop (R) is running for re-election -- and ran unopposed in the 2020 Republican primary. 

Running in the Democratic primary: Clayton Brooks III, Harry Southerland, Cynthia Wallace and Marcus Williams.

The District 9 race made national headlines in 2018 and 2019, after allegations of ballot tampering by a Republican political consultant.

Dan Bishop won the special election for North Carolina Congressional District 9 in September 2019 against democrat Dan McCready. Bishop claimed 51% of the vote against McCready's 49% of the vote.

RELATED: Republican Dan Bishop wins North Carolina District 9 special election

RELATED: District 9 Election Fraud Investigation: Frustrated voters speak out at town hall

Paid Advertisement

Before You Leave, Check This Out