Breaking News
More () »

Your guide to Iredell County's newly elected officials

Here are the 2020 local election results, from county commissioners to soil and water supervisor.

IREDELL COUNTY, N.C. — While the 2020 presidential election was especially eventful and many counties experienced record-breaking turnout, the daily lives of North Carolinians will be more immediately impacted by down-ballot races and local ballot measures.

Here’s a brief breakdown of the local officials elected to represent Iredell County, and what they will be responsible for.

RELATED: North Carolina elections: 2020 voter turnout up 6% statewide

County Commissioners

The Iredell County Board of County Commissioners is a five-person board the meets on the first and third Tuesday of every month. Commissioners are responsible for maintaining, developing and implementing policies that guide the county's investments in fields like infrastructure, public health and culture.

Melissa Neader - At-large

  • New electee, vice-chair
  • Republican
  • Owner of five local McDonald’s restaurants
  • Email: melissa.neader@co.iredell.nc.us

Scottie Brown - At-large

  • New electee
  • Republican
  • Owner of Zootastic Park
  • Email: scottie.brown@co.iredell.nc.us

Gene Houpe  - At-large

  • Incumbent, commissioner since 2014
  • Republican
  • 30-year law enforcement veteran
  • Email: gene.houpe@co.iredell.nc.us

RELATED: Ratio of poll workers to registered voters varies greatly between counties, state data shows

Board of Education

The Iredell-Statesville Board of Education sets policy and guidelines for the county's public schools.

William (Bill) Howell - District 2

  • Incumbent, first elected in 2016
  • Republican 
  • Retired biology teacher, athletics director and coach
  • Email: bill_howell@iss.k12.nc.us

Doug Knight  - District 4

  • New electee, ousted former Vice-Chair Chuck Gallyon II
  • Republican
  • Physics professor at Lenoir-Rhyne University
  • Email: dougchar001@gmail.com

Charles Kelly - District 6

  • Incumbent, first elected in 2004
  • Republican
  • Former biology instructor at Mitchell Community College
  • Email: cskllll@bellsouth.net

RELATED: 'I can't make that decision for you': Health director's emails contradict school reopening guidance

Soil and Water Conservation District Supervisor

Iredell county has a five-member board of Soil and Water Conservation Supervisors which consists of two members appointed by the State Soil and Water Conservation Commission and three members which are elected by citizens of Iredell County to a 4-year staggered term on a non-partisan basis. Board meetings are open to the public.

Tracy Jenkins

  • Incumbent
  • Co-Owner of Westwood Farms

RELATED: Iredell County takes a huge hit as flood water leads to deadly accident