Breaking News
More () »

UNC QB Drake Maye voted ACC Player of the Year

Myers Park standout is first Tar Heel to win the award since Lawrence Taylor in 1980
Credit: AP
North Carolina quarterback Drake Maye (10) warms up before an NCAA college football game against Georgia Tech Saturday, Nov. 19, 2022, in Chapel Hill, N.C. (AP Photo/Chris Seward)

North Carolina redshirt freshman quarterback Drake Maye has been voted ACC Player of the Year.

Maye becomes the first Tar Heels player to win the award since Lawrence Taylor in 1980.

Maye, a graduate of Myers Park High School in Charlotte, has thrown for 3,847 yards and 35 touchdowns this season, and has rushed for 629 yards and six more touchdowns.

He is just the ninth FBS quarterback since 2010 to post 3,500 passing yards, 35 passing touchdowns, 500 rushing yards and five rushing touchdowns in a single season.

On that list, he joins Robert Griffin III, Tajh Boyd, Johnny Manziel, Marcus Mariota, McKenzie Milton, Kyler Murray, Trevor Lawrence and Deshaun Watson, who did it twice.

Maye is also a semifinalist for Walter Camp National Player of the Year and the Davey O'Brien, Maxwell and Alexander Awards.

He's also been named to the watch list for the Manning Award, which recognizes college football's top quarterback.

Maye, who's father Mark was a UNC quarterback from 1983-88, starred locally for the Mustangs and initally committed to Alabama before signing with North Carolina.

He will lead the Coastal-division winning Tar Heels in the ACC Championship Game at Bank of America Stadium on Saturday against Clemson.

Before You Leave, Check This Out