Breaking News
More () »

WCNC Charlotte wins Regional Murrow Award for best newscast

The station is honored to receive this prestigious award.
Credit: WCNC Charlotte
Regional Edward R. Murrow Award for Best Newscast

CHARLOTTE, N.C. — WCNC Charlotte is honored to receive a Regional Edward R. Murrow Award for Best Newscast. This award recognized our 6 p.m. newscast covering the tragic shooting in Rock Hill, South Carolina.

A prominent emergency room doctor, his wife, and their two grandchildren were among six people killed in a shooting near Rock Hil in April 2021. 

RELATED: One year later, community remembers 6 killed in Rock Hill shooting

Former NFL player Phillip Adams was identified as the suspect in the shooting. 

RELATED: Ex-NFL player who killed 6 in Rock Hill had 'severe' CTE, doctor says

Early on, the question was raised: did the multiple concussions during his football career fuel his violence?

WCNC Charlotte followed the twists and turns of this complicated case throughout the 6 p.m. newscast.

One of the difficulties of being a journalist is you're often present for people's worst days, but we, as a station, try our hardest to support our communities by providing critical, timely and accurate information to a community in mourning.

For the latest breaking news, weather and traffic alerts, download the WCNC Charlotte mobile app.

Our station continues to keep the families and friends impacted by this horrible tragedy in our prayers as they try to heal from this shooting. We will continue to ask the difficult questions to try to help prevent situations like these from happening again.

In case you missed it, you can see the entire newscast on YouTube.

The RTDNA Edward R. Murrow Awards are among the most prestigious in broadcast and digital news.

The Radio Television Digital News Association has been honoring outstanding achievements in electronic journalism with the Edward R. Murrow Awards since 1971. Award recipients demonstrate the spirit of excellence that Murrow set as a standard for the profession of broadcast and digital journalism.

You can stream WCNC Charlotte on Roku and Amazon Fire TV, just download the free app.

Murrow Awards are presented to news organizations, not individuals. All awards are presented based on the specific body of work submitted.

Regional Murrow Awards are presented to small and large radio, television and digital outlets based on 14 geographic regions. Regional winners are automatically considered for a National award. Network competitors are judged at the national level.

Click here to sign up for the daily Wake Up Charlotte newsletter  

WCNC Charlotte is committed to reporting on the issues facing the communities we serve. We tell the stories of people working to solve persistent social problems. We examine how problems can be solved or addressed to improve the quality of life and make a positive difference. WCNC Charlotte is seeking solutions for you. Send your tips or questions to newstips@wcnc.com.  

Before You Leave, Check This Out